In MLA style, a 'figure' is "illustrative visual material other than a table—for example, a photograph, map, drawing, graph, or chart" (Behind the Style). A 'table' comprises columns and rows of text and/or numbers.
There are some variations between citing figures and tables, but they both follow the same basic rules. Both have to include a:
Each of these components is doing something different, and is positioned above and below your figure/table, according to a which type you are using.
Note: Every figure you include has to have a matching entry in your Works Cited list (exceptions explained in "FIGURES" example)
When using tables, figures, graphs, and equations, they should ALWAYS be introduced within the body of the paper before you show the actual table/figure/graph/equation.
You might refer to it like this:
"As can be seen in figure 1 below..."
Figure 1
OR
"Some readers found Harry’s final battle with Voldemort a disappointment, and recently, the podcast, MuggleCast debated the subject (see fig. 2)."
If the data, or the figure itself comes from an outside source, you should cite that source in the caption below the table/figure/graph/equation. If you cite the source in the caption, you do not need to provide a citation on the Works Cited list.
The caption might look like this:
Figure. 2. Harry Potter and Voldemort final battle debate from Andrew Sims et al.; “Show 166”; MuggleCast; MuggleNet.com, 19 Dec. 2008, www.mugglenet.com/2015/11/the-snape-debate-rowling-speaks-out.
Note: Position your figures or tables as close as possible to the text to which they relate.
Links on this page
Table: data laid out in a grid format; data laid out in a table format; label as Table 1, Table 2 etc; refer to as table 1, table 2 etc (Do not capitalize table when referring to a table in the body of the essay).
Figure: data rendered into a graph or other more visual format; covers image, graph, diagram, maps, charts, videos; anything not a table or equation or musical score; label as Fig 1 or Figure 1; refer to as fig 1or figure 1. (Do not capitalize figure when referring to a figure in the body of the essay, note the first example above)
Photographs, artwork, maps, graphs, charts, etc. should be labeled Figure (usually abbreviated as Fig.), given a number (start at '1' and continue), and a caption.
Captions can be short, in which case you would add a full citation to your Works Cited list. However, if the caption includes complete bibliographical information about the source, and the source is not cited elsewhere in your text, you do not have to create an entry in your Works Cited list. Capitalize captions as you would any title in MLA style -- do not use 'all caps'!
Labels and captions for figures are usually:
In Example 1 below where a shorter caption was provided: Fig 1. Dorothea Lange's "Destitute Pea Pickers." This shorter caption would need a full citation in the Works Cited list.
In Example 2 below, because all the citation components are provided, an entry in the Works Cited list would not be needed.
Example 1:
Fig 1. Dorothea Lange's "Destitute Pea Pickers."
Example 2:
Fig. 1. Dorothea Lange. Destitute Pea Pickers in California, a 32-year-old Mother of Seven Children. 1936, Getty Images,
www.gettyimages.com/pictures/destitute-pea-pickers-in-california-a-32-year-old-mother-of-news-photo-90768141.
Accessed 10 Jan. 2020.
Source: “LibGuides: MLA Citation Guide: Images (Figures) and Tables.” HPU Libraries, guides.highpoint.edu/c.php?g=542687&p=7179215. Accessed 6 May 2022.
Artist Lastname, Firstname. Title of the Artwork. Date of Composition, Name of the Institution that
houses the artwork, Database, URL. (omit http:// or https://)
Example:
Lichtenstein, Roy. Foot and Hand. 1964, Roy Lichtenstein Foundation, Artstor,
library.artstor.org/#/asset/LICHTENSTEIN_1039656284.
In text: (Lichtenstein)
Source: “LibGuides: MLA Citation Guide: Images (Figures) and Tables.” HPU Libraries, guides.highpoint.edu/c.php?g=542687&p=7179215. Accessed 6 May 2022.
Follow as the "Image / Artwork from a Database" example, and add: Accessed Day Month Year.
Artist Lastname, Firstname. Title of the Artwork. Date of Composition, Name of the Institution that
houses the artwork. URL. (omit http:// or https://) Accessed Day Month Year.
Example:
Gamble, Sidney. Man on Rope Bridge. 1917, Duke University Libraries:
Digital Collections. repository.duke.edu/dc/gamble/gamble_060A_32
Accessed 23 Dec. 2019.
In text: (Gamble)
Source: “LibGuides: MLA Citation Guide: Images (Figures) and Tables.” HPU Libraries, guides.highpoint.edu/c.php?g=542687&p=7179215. Accessed 6 May 2022.
Artist Lastname, Firstname. Title of the Artwork. Date of Composition,
Name of the Institution that houses the artwork, City of the Institution.
Example:
Sargent, John Singer. Madame X (Madame Pierre Gautreau). 1883-84,
Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York.
In text: (Sargent)
Source: “LibGuides: MLA Citation Guide: Images (Figures) and Tables.” HPU Libraries, guides.highpoint.edu/c.php?g=542687&p=7179215. Accessed 6 May 2022.
Follow as for the "Physical Work of Art" example, adding information about the book:
Artist Lastname, Firstname. Title of the Artwork. Date of Composition, Name of the Institution that
houses the artwork, City of the Institution. Title of the Book, Publisher, Date of publication,
Page number(s).
Example:
Itten, Johannes. The Encounter. 1916, Kunsthaus, Zurich. The Prestel Dictionary of Art and Artists
in the Twentieth Century, Prestel, 2000, p.165.
In text: (Itten)
Source: “LibGuides: MLA Citation Guide: Images (Figures) and Tables.” HPU Libraries, guides.highpoint.edu/c.php?g=542687&p=7179215. Accessed 6 May 2022.
Tables include columns of text and/or numbers. Tables are labeled as 'Table' and given a number, followed by a short title.
In this case, the bibliographic information is added below the table, starting with the word 'Source:'
Example:
Table 1
Social Media Use Over Time (2013-2019)
Source: "Social Media Fact Sheet: Social Media use Over Time." Pew Research Center, 12 June 2019, www.pewresearch.org/internet/fact-sheet/social-media/. Accessed 12 Jan. 2020.
A second way would be to include just the in-text reference and then list the full citation in the Works Cited.
Table 1
Social Media Use Over Time (2013-2019)
Source: (Social Media)
Source: “LibGuides: MLA Citation Guide: Images (Figures) and Tables.” HPU Libraries, guides.highpoint.edu/c.php?g=542687&p=7179215. Accessed 6 May 2022.
Adapted from the work of Kelly Donaldson AISG Libeguides
